Deputies honored at Annual Awards Ceremony

(Bel Air, MD – May 24, 2012) The Harford County Sheriff’s Office recently recognized several agency members at their Annual Awards Ceremony. Agency members were recognized for their outstanding performance, exemplary service, devotion to duty and life saving efforts in 2011.

Sheriff L. Jesse Bane welcomed the group who attended the ceremony held on April 26, 2012 at Level Fire Hall. With over 180 people in attendance, Harford County Sheriff’s Office agency members and their families celebrated with local dignitaries, elected officials and community leaders. Dignitaries on hand to share in the evening’s activities were Major General Robert Ferrell and Chief Sgt Major Kennis Dent of Aberdeen Proving Ground, Harford County Councilman “Capt” Jim McMahon, Dr. Susan Kelly of the Harford County Health Department and Mark Bilkner of the State Fire Marshall’s Office. The invocation was provided by Chaplain Richard Roberts and the Star Spangled Banner was performed by sisters, Maddie and Jillian Larrimore, students of Havre de Grace High School.

DFC Tyler Vass received the evening’s highest honor a Valor Award. This is presented to a deputy whose performance involved conspicuous gallantry, above and beyond the call of duty, or confrontation with an adversary who presented a threat to the life of the nominee or to the life of another individual.

Deputy Andrew Stolarz, DFC Joseph Matys, DFC Justin Blubaugh and DFC Bradford Sives received the Purple Heart award for injuries received in the line of duty inflicted by an adversary.

Several agency members were honored with Life Saving Awards. This is presented to deputies who actively participated in the saving of a human life by physical rescue or through the administration of first aid or cardiopulmonary resuscitation. Recognized were Deputy Andrew Van Helten, Deputy Christopher Morosko, DFC Adam Blair, DFC Craig Blessing, DFC James, Markley III, DFC James Toliver, DFC Jeremy Mothershed, DFC John Ryan, DFC Kevin Kegley, DFC Kevin Phillips, DFC Ryan Shaull, DFC Ryan Wolfe, DFC Stephen Lynch, Cpl Brian Traut, Cpl Robert Burgess, Cpl Scott Johnson, Sgt Christopher Crespo and Lt Charles Carr.

The Merit Award is presented to deputies who have performed their duties in an exemplary manner and displayed initiative, professionalism, or devotion to duty that is beyond the expectations of their normal duty assignment. Recognized for their work in 2011 was Deputy Andrew Stolarz, Deputy James Amrein, DFC Benjamin Elliott, DFC Clayton Rash, DFC Michael Yeagy, DFC Nikeya Brown, DFC Ryan Hall, DFC Suzanne Moro, Sgt Richard Hampton, Sgt Sean Kahler, Lt Kevin Walker, Captain Tanya Jackson, Major Mike Capasso, Michael Durbin, Rachael Finn, Robin Hunt.

The Auto Theft Unit was presented with a Unit Citation which is awarded to a specific squad, shift or other unit of the agency, recognizing superior performance during a calendar year that is clearly deemed exceptional and worthy of recognition.

Lt James Eyler and DFC Jay Metzbower were recognized with the John T Brosseau Community Service Award which is presented to agency members who have demonstrated significant positive impact on the community in which they serve.

In addition to the awards presented, DFC Christopher Maddox, DFC Grant Krulock, DFC Jeff Petty, DFC Mark Pilachowski, DFC Nick McGowan, DFC Richard Dean DFC Ryan Wolfe, Cpl Kristy Bond, Cpl R. Michael Lane, Cpl Teresa Blubaugh Sgt Christopher Parrish, Sgt Donald Gividen, Officer Craig Gentile APD, Officer Mike Palmer APD, TFC Mike Bonczeski MSP, Tpr Steve Muehl MSP were recognized with letters of commendation from Sheriff Bane.

In addition to the awards presented to agency members, Sheriff Bane also recognized David Macomber, McComas Funeral Home, Brady Stafford and Anthony Poretti with Certificates of Appreciation for their assistance provided to the agency in 2011.

Media Release

May 24, 2012


  • Monica A. Worrell

Download this press release