Harford County Sheriff's Office Announces Graduation of 17th Entrance Level Correctional Officers Class

(Harford County, MD – July 23, 2009) Harford County Sheriff L. Jesse Bane and Warden Elwood Dehaven are pleased to announce the 17th graduating class of Entrance Level Correctional Officers. The ceremony held on Thursday, July 23rd honored five graduates: Charles George Brown Jr., Thomas Pfeltz, Nathan Holmes, Misty Fox and Gary Smith, Jr.. Deputy Thomas Pfeltz was named class valedictorian with a 97.8 average. Deputy Charles George Brown, Jr. was selected to place the ceremonial class flag onto the “guide on”, an honor bestowed on him by the Drill Instructors.

Lieutenant Carl Brooks, Director of the Harford County Sheriff’s Office Training Academy, welcomed families, friends and dignitaries to the event held at John Carroll High School. The National Anthem was sung by Kelleigh Pangratz, a student of Harford Technical High School. The Posting of the Colors was skillfully performed by the Harford County Sheriff’s Office Color Guard. Guest speakers for the evening were Sheriff L. Jesse Bane and Mayor Wayne Dougherty of the City of Havre de Grace. Both leaders offered some common sense and inspirational advice to the graduates. Diplomas were presented to the graduates by Sheriff Bane and Mr. Ray Franklin, Acting director of the MD Police and Correctional Training Commissions.

Each graduate completed 10 weeks of intensive training sanctioned by the Maryland Police and Correctional Training Commissions. Recruits received specialized training in over 200 course objectives including first aid, CPR, defensive tactics, fire safety, report writing and physical fitness to name a few. In addition to the training received, graduates will also receive eight credits towards an Associate Arts degree in Criminal Justice. For further information regarding a career as a correctional officer with the Harford County Sheriff’s office, contact 410-836-6600.

Media Release

July 23, 2009


  • Sgt. David Betz
  • Monica A. Worrell

Download this press release