Harford County Sheriff's Office Announces Graduation of 16th Entrance Level Correctional Officers Class

(Harford County, MD – February 19, 2008) Harford County Sheriff L. Jesse Bane and Warden Elwood Dehaven are pleased to announce the 16th graduating class of Entrance Level Correctional Officers. The ceremony held on Thursday, January 29th honored nine graduates: Gloria Diane DeHaven, Thomas A. French, Jr., Amy J. Giannini, Jeffrey James Hurley II, Christopher Edward Taylor, Derek Anthony Seman, Stephen Michael Lynch, David A. Lewis, and Trent Lucas Thomas, Sr. David Lewis was named class valedictorian with a 98.5 average. Steve Lynch was selected by his peers to place the ceremonial class flag onto the “guide on”, an honor bestowed on him by his fellow classmates.

Lieutenant Carl Brooks, Director of the Harford County Sheriff’s Office Training Academy welcomed over 100 families, friends and dignitaries to the event held at Harford Community College. The National Anthem was sung by Kelleigh Pangratz, a student of Harford Technical High School. The Posting of Colors was skillfully performed by the Harford County Sheriff’s Office Color Guard; while the Retiring of the Colors was handled by the Harford County Sheriff’s Office Explorers Post 6600. Guest speakers for the evening were Sheriff L. Jesse Bane and Stephen Hess of the United States Attorney’s Office. Both gentleman offered some common sense and inspirational advice to the graduates. Diplomas were presented to the graduates by Sheriff Bane and Ms. Jane Sachs of the MD Police and Correctional Training Commission.

Each graduate completed 10 weeks of intensive training sanctioned by the Maryland Police and Correctional Training Commissions. Recruits received specialized training in over 200 course objectives including first aid, CPR, defensive tactics, fire safety, report writing and physical fitness to name a few. In addition to the training received, graduates will also receive eight credits towards an Associate Arts degree in Criminal Justice. For further information regarding a career as a correctional officer with the Harford County Sheriff’s office, contact 410-836-6600 or visit the website at

(Pictured from Left to Right: J. Hurley, T. French, C. Taylor, G. DeHaven, D. Seman, A. Giannini, S. Lynch, T. Thomas, D. Lewis)

Media Release

February 19, 2009


  • Sgt. David Betz
  • Monica A. Worrell

Download this press release