Sheriff Golding Holds Promotion and Awards Ceremony

(Bel Air, Md. – November 22, 2006) — Harford County Sheriff R. Thomas Golding held an awards and promotion ceremony on Monday, November 20, 2006. The ceremony was held at the Bel Air Volunteer Fire Company in Bel Air.

Sheriff Golding presented awards to 39 sworn and civilian personnel. The awards included those for Valor, Life Saving; Merit Commendation; Letter of Commendation, Unit Citations and the Maryland Sheriff’s Association – Deputy of the Year Award.

Deputy First Class Timothy Blevins received the agency highest award for valor in the performance of his duties. Personnel receiving Life Saving award were: Cpl. Kevin Taylor, DFC Shawn Severn, DFC Todd Robinson and Deputy Michael Montalvo.

Deputy Fire Class William Beebe received a Merit Commendation.

Personnel receiving Letter of Commendation awards were: DFC John Miner, DFC Scott Johnson, DFC Carey Shaw, Deputy Richard Berg, and Sgt. Robert Royster.

Unit Citations were presented to members of the Warrant Unit, Community Action Response Team (CART) and Special Response Team (SRT) respectively. Among those receiving awards for outstanding service in the Warrant Unit were Cpl. Catherine Visnaw, DFC Charles Holthaus, DFC Donald Hopps, DFC Robert Morgan, DFC Todd Robinson, DFC Steven Schwartz, Sgt. Jim Waltman and Jennifer Goode.

Deputies assigned to the CART Unit receiving citations were Cpl. Donald Gividen, DFC Greg Young, DFC Keith Jackson and DFC James Tsompanas.

Members of the SRT Unit receiving awards included DFC Steven Poort, DFC Todd Robinson, DFC Bryan Oleszczuk, DFC Jeremy Mothershed, DFC Javier Moro, DFC Jamie Krampert, DFC Keith Jackson, DFC Donald Hopps, DFC Brad Crossley, DFC Robert Burns, DFC Greg Young, DFC James Tsompanas, Cpl. Tom Gamble, Cpl. Casimir Alkanowski, Sgt. Doug Reppar and Lt. Jon Krass.

DFC Scott Blankenship, assigned to the Gang Suppression Unit, received an award from the Maryland Sheriff’s Association as Deputy of the Year for his work with the Gang Suppression Unit during 2005.

In addition to those receiving awards, Sheriff Golding recognized personnel who were promoted between June and September of this year. Deputies recognized for their respective promotions were: Cpl. Michael Boyd, Cpl. Leonard Malcolm, Cpl. Tracy Farmer, Cpl. Penni Gann, Cpl. Christopher Crespo, Sgt. Richard Hampton, Sgt. Yvonne Snyder and Sgt. Ian Loughran.

This event was the last public awards and promotion ceremony for Sheriff Golding who will leave office in December after 33 years of service. In his opening remarks, Sheriff Golding expressed his appreciation and thanks to the men and women of the Harford County Sheriff's Office for their outstanding performance and service to the citizens of Harford County.

Commenting on those receiving awards as well as those recently promoted, Sheriff Golding stated, “Each of the people recognized have distinguished themselves and are most deserving of the honors bestowed upon them. We are fortunate to have these outstanding individuals serving the citizens of Harford County.”