Twenty Eight Students Complete Harford County Sheriff’s Youth Academy

Youth Gain Insight into Law Enforcement

(Bel Air, MD - October 12, 2006) — Twenty-eight high school students from Harford County and nearby Lancaster County, Pennsylvania, successfully completed the week-long Sheriff’s Youth Academy at Harford Glen. The academy which began in 2000 holds two week-long sessions each summer. The Harford County Sheriff's Office School Policing Unit coordinates the activities of the academy.

The Sheriff’s Youth Academy is open to public, private, parochial and home-schooled students. Students from grades 9 – 12 are eligible to attend the academy.

The program is designed to educate and expose students to the duties, responsibilities and atmosphere of a law enforcement officer. The curriculum is intense and the information presented is not for entertainment, but rather to assist students in making serious career choices.

Participants in the course receive classroom and practical instruction in criminal investigations, narcotic identification and investigation, traffic enforcement, evidence collection, firearms safety and duties of a patrol officer.

Students who attended and successfully completed all aspects of the program this year were

Michael Burton of James Run Christian Academy, Dennis Caton of Harford Lutheran High School, Nicholas Clipper of North Harford High School, Michaele Dunn of Edgewood High School, Kaycee Goff of Edgewood High School, Crystal Horine of Joppatowne High School, Marquis Johnson of Joppatowne High School, Khadija Mitchell of Mercy High School, Tyler Morgan of Solanco High School, Raymond Muszynski, of James Run Christian Academy, Gavin Phillips, Home Schooled, Daniel Thayer of C. Milton Wright High School and Stephanie Yeck of Aberdeen High School.

The following students completed the second youth academy session: Joseph Burris, Harford Technical High School, Amy Ciavolino, Home Schooled, Janee Cooney, Home Schooled, Michael Czawlytko, Harford Technical High School, Joshua Ellis, Home Schooled, Carl Goette, North Harford High School, Albert Hewitt, Aberdeen High School, Steven Hood, Edgewood High School, Drew Hoopes, North Harford High School, Robert Lewis, C. Milton Wright High School, William Price, Harford Technical High School, Corwyn Smith, Gettysburg High School, Russell Spicer, Joppatowne High School and Dylan Woolfrey, Home Schooled.

The Harford County Sheriff's Office will begin taking applications for the 2007 Sheriff’s Youth Academy next spring. For further information, students and parents should contact the Harford County Sheriff's Office School Policing Unit at 410-638-3968.