Harford County Sheriff’s Office Academy Graduates Entrance Level Class 24

Fourteen New Officers Complete Six Months of Training

(Bel Air, MD – September 25, 2006) — Harford County Sheriff R. Thomas Golding has announced the graduation of 14 new law enforcement officers from the Harford County Sheriff’s Office Academy. The officers graduated Thursday, September 21, 2006 in ceremonies held at the William H. Amoss Performing Arts Center.

Those successfully completing the intensive six-month training include four deputies with the Cecil County Sheriff’s Office, one officer with the Elkton Police Department, one officer with the Havre de Grace Police Department and eight new deputies of the Harford County Sheriff’s Office. The officers began as recruits on March 20, 2006 with their orientation to the academy. Twenty recruits began the academy, but only 14 successfully completed their training maintaining a minimum scholastic average of at least 80 percent.

The graduation of Entrance Level Class 24 marks the last time that Sheriff Golding will address the graduates from the Academy as Sheriff of Harford County. Sheriff Golding will retire from office December 1, 2006 completing nearly 33 years of service with the Sheriff’s Office.

The commencement speaker was Rod J. Rosenstein, United States Attorney for the District of Maryland. During his address, the U. S. Attorney reminded the class “they do not represent the government; they are the government by their presence as law enforcement officers.”

Deputy Christopher John Jordan of the Harford County Sheriff’s Office was the class valedictorian with an average of 97.3 percent. Deputy Gregory Lee Jordan, also of the Harford County Sheriff’s Office, was the leading marksmen and earned the “Top Shot” award with a score of 98 percent.

The rigorous 28 week police academy included a wide variety of subjects including criminal and traffic law, report writing, physical fitness training, firearms training, search and seizure, and evidence collection and analysis to mention a few. In all, graduates completed more than 1,012.5 hours of training and mastered 456 objectives mandated by the Maryland Police and Correctional Training Commission.

The Entrance Level Class 24 graduates are: Darren Michael Cormier, George Edwin Reynolds IV, Brian Keith Shockey and Sarah Elizabeth Zak of the Cecil County Sheriff’s Office; Jami Adalgisa Jezyk of the Elkton Police Department; Shawn Michael Gough with the Havre de Grace Police Department and Christopher Aycock, Marco Barresi, Elizabeth Rose Harper, Todd Edward Johnson, Christopher John Jordan, Gregory Lee Jordan Robert Matthew Kovacs and Daniel Luis Vazquez of the Harford County Sheriff's Office.

Commenting on the graduation of EL24, Sheriff Golding stated, “The citizens of Harford and Cecil counties can be proud of the accomplishments of these 14 new law enforcement officers. They entered the academy as individuals and left as a cohesive team of police professionals.”

Entrance Level Class 25 of the Harford County Sheriff’s Office Academy begins October 10, 2006.

Press Release

September 25, 2006


Download this press release